Testimonials

      

A few recent reviews from our customers...

First visit but certainly won't be the last.  Excellent menu with lots of new/different dishes.  Lots of flavour too.  Most of all excellent staff who recommended a top quality wine
Rob Coles, August 2021
Good food plenty of choice and excellent service Loved the pathia
Steve Wilcox, August 2021
Fabulous! At a very busy period, the staff worked very hard to meet customers' needs. Thanks all!
SmArt Tuition, August 2021
Very good we thoroughly enjoyed it beautiful meals thank you Gorgie 😊
Brenda Tweedle, August 2021
Very good food was great
John Bullen, July 2021
Excellent food and service
Christian Broadley, July 2021
We had a lovely experience the staff were very helpful and the food we had was excellent
Michael fildes, June 2021
delicious food,perfect service and amazing people's,nice atmosphere,everything worth the money😁😁😁
Monika & Robert from Melton Mowbray, June 2021
Very delicious  food,very nice team,😊
Monia Monia, June 2021
4th takeaway we've had in the last couple of months, each time our food has been beyond excellence, best place in town for Indian food.
shazzer 2603, May 2021
Our 1st Indian takeaway since we moved to the area, just before last year's 1st lockdown and most definitely worth the wait.  The food was gorgeous. Service really friendly.  Will definitely return for both takeaways and dine in,  when possible.
Bron Stoker, April 2021
 
Our 1st Indian takeaway since we moved to the area, just before last year's 1st lockdown and most definitely worth the wait.  The food was gorgeous. Service really friendly.  Will definitely return for both takeaways and dine in,  when possible.
B Stoker, April 2021
 
Very smart restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed our food
Kristina Prottey, Feb 2021
 
If there was a 6 I’d give it to them!
Fabulous delivery made by George himself. Fabulous meal for two for my birthday. All as good as an eat in meal. His chef and family go the extra mile. Really good food

Julie R, Jan 2021

 
Brilliant as ever
Lee Colemere, Jan 2021
 
Fantastic food George still doing a brilliant job
Mel Williams, Jan 2021
 
Recommend
This has become our favourite restaurant. Food is amazing- staff are friendly and always welcoming. Track and trace and sanitation station in place. Wishing the Simla the very best for 2021.
Brian, Dec 2020
 
Great!
The night of Christmas Eve and I have ordered an Indian, not lots of food, but enough for one. I also chose delivery! The food arrived within 15 minutes, lovely and hot and all tastes delicious! I also want to praise the delivery drivers tonight. I didn’t hear the door knock so they rang me and were very polite, left the food outside the house and waited in the car until I got the food!
All yummy too! Thankyou !

Jade I, Dec 2020

 
Fantastic Food
The food was amazing, cooked perfectly and tasted amazing. Staff were brilliant, friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend to everyone that they come here.

Nick Gerrard, Dec 2020

 
Amazing.
The food was amazing. The staff were amazing. Friendly, family orientated and excellent service. Not rushed but timely service. Wish we lived closer so we could come more often.

K&K Telford, Oct 2020

 
This time we had a take away but eating in or out the food & service is always excellent.
Helen Parish, Oct 2020
 
Excellent delivery service
I was staying at the Premier In and ordered a take away two nights running. Only 20 mins from to delivery, which I think is pretty fantastic.
Pay the driver on delivery.
The food was hot , tasty especially the peshwari nan and the tarka dahl.

David S, Oct 2020

 
Well worth a visit.
Had an exceptional meal here that hit all the spots when we stayed at the Travel Lodge. Great food at very reasonable prices and the service was terrific. As part of my work I travel a lot and also travel a lot for pleasure with the consequence that we eat out a lot. Am a big curry fan and this was one of the best I have sampled anywhere. An extensive menu and food that was well cooked during quality ingredients.
Whilst the food was good the service was excellent and the owner, George, runs a great team.
Would recommend and will visit again when we return to Oswestry.
Steve G, Sept 2020
 
Amazing food , lovely staff
We visited Simla while on holiday in Oswestry , it came recommended by a friend. We had a lovely meal, really good quality food and plenty of choice. The staff knew their stuff & were friendly & funny. A fantastic experience & they went the extra mile for me as they went and bought decaf coffee!!
Fiona L, Sept 2020
 
Very good meal staff very polite well recommend
Paul Smith, Sept 2020
 
Best place for a cheeky weekend takeaway treat definitely 10 /10 from me
Adam Rowson, Sept 2020
 
Went in with 5 friends last month whilst visiting. Staff were lovely and the food was great and good value for money, already looking forward to next years visit 😃👍
124Hughie, August 2020
 
Best Indian in Oswestry
Our favourite treat. Food is always delicious. Staff are friendly and attentive. Simla is one of my top recommendations for people looking to eat out in Oswestry.
Ciara, August 2020
 
Friendly family owned restaurant,  extremely good food
Caroline Shaw, Aug 2020
 
We were recommended the Simla by a local and we had a very pleasant evening.
Robin Langley, Aug 2020
 
Clean well prepared for social distancing. Food was really lovely and the staff were great.
Margaret Ramessur, Aug 2020
 
Very nice food.. friendly staff ..must visit👍
Pranjali Ghosh, Aug 2020
 
Superb food. Seriously. I have been for many curries across the country and this was by far the best. Friendly, helpful staff too.
Lisa Oliver, Aug 2020
 
Nice food,  quickly served, by happy, polite staff.
Vanessa Green, Aug 2020
 
We all enjoyed the food . Outstanding service with top quality food.
Kamal Chowdhury, Aug 2020
 
Always good food and friendly service. Keeping to current regulation so you feel safe.
Michelle Dawson, Aug 2020
 
Great food! Great hospitality. Owner is an excellent host.
Dilowar Hussain, Aug 2020
 
Really pleasant staff and helpful with our specific requirements. Good food.
Anthony Moore, Aug 2020
 
Staff are friendly  and a great curry house
Heather Taylor, Aug 2020
 
Always great quality. Ran by a lovely family. The best Indian in Oswestry
Charlie Humphrys, Aug 2020
 
Fantastic food, big portions, great value and great service. The staff here are friendly and the restaurant was busy with people that seemed to be local/regulars which is usually a pretty good sign. We stayed in the area 3 nights and dined here on two nights. We parked easily in the parking bays on the road, maybe 100 yards away from the restaurant. Would definitely recommend a visit.
Edwina Lowe, Aug 2020
 
Simla has exceptional staff food is fabulous we highly recommend 😁👍
Claire Williams, Aug 2020
 
Best Indian food in town,  excellent service,  very friendly with a lovely atmosphere
Michelle Miller, Aug 2020
 
As good as ever. Always very busy but a great meal. Thanks.
Jeffrey Green, Aug 2020
 
Very impressive if somewhat busy restaurant . Great food and great service at a very reasonable price. Would be delighted to re-visit.
Michael Lewis, Aug 2020
 
Friendly, really good service and great food
Fay Pritchard Williams, Aug 2020
 
Awesome place with good people running it
Graham Weaver, Aug 2020
 
Always made very welcome
Matt Griffiths, Aug 2020
 
Lovely friendly service. Awesome Chicken Pathia. A local institution.
Tim Tansley, August 2020
 
Food and service was excellent. Highly recommended.
Isobel Stone, August 2020
 
Very tasty meal, friendly service and great atmosphere
Dave Lovelace, August 2020
 
I went here on Saturday with 8 other gents, we were looked after excellently.
The owner, his wife and all the staff are superb and very accommodating.
I had the chicken tikka pathia (ask for it madras hot   ) with keema rice and keema naan, it was all delicious and the 8 guys with me were all making appreciative noises as they woofed it down. There’s a reason the Simla has been in Oswestry so long, I’d recommend trying it out to see why!
Richard Harding-Brooks, August 2020
 
Great food & service, George & his staff have always been consistent. Brilliant

Carl Penrose, July 2020

 

Excellent food and service. I'd nearly given up on eating out at Indian restaurants after so many bad experiences. This place is a gem. The food was awesome. Packed with flavours, well presented and delicious. The staff were super friendly and attentive. 5 stars all round. Thank you
Abbey, July 2020

Fabulous. Such a friendly welcome, excellent service and such delicious food. Cant praise it enough. Looking forward to our next visit
Pam Parnell, Feb 2020

We have just been to the restaurant for the first time in about 6:7 years due to illness. I was pleased to be able to get out instead of having take away meals. While they were nice it was much nicer to attend the restaurant. A very warm welcome was experienced and it was especially nice to see George. Our meal was lovely couldn’t fault it. The service was great and attentive! On tonight’s experience I would recommend it
Kerion M, Jan 2020

 
"Very efficient, friendly service. Excellent dishes. Good value
John Molyneux July 2019
"Great food & service, George & his staff have always been consistent. Brilliant
Carl Penrose July 2019
"Brilliant food, warm friendly service from a family run business, est in 1975 and still going strong in a small town. Great prices great choice
Anakin Nip July 2019
 
"We enjoyed an excellent meal here. The staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant was quite small but very clean and well run. We will definately be eating here again.
Elizabeth Opperman July 2019
 
"Outstanding food excellent service great value. Best curry ive ever had .
Stephen Stackhouse July 2019

"Great Indian Restaurant with really attentive staff plus the amazing George who is the owner
Brian Willis June 2019

 

"This is a friendly restaurant and has been for a very long time. The Management and staff make everyone welcome and feel like part of the family, nothing is too much trouble. The food is AMAZING,  and they cater for all .
Meryl Cox June 2019
"Best curry house in town and very nice people who run it.
Jono Pierce June 2019

George hasn't lost his touch after all the years he has spent running this place. The food is always on point and very reasonably priced.
Please try the garlic chilli masala!"
Sam Hirst, May 2019

"Very Tasty"
Pagan Dunning, May 2019

"Very good costumer service, great food"
Cvetomila Jones, April 2019

"We enjoyed an excellent meal here. The staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant was quite small but very clean and well run. We will definitely be eating here again"
Elizabeth Oppetman April 2019

"Very good service"
Brian Edwards, March 2019

"This is a friendly restaurant and has been for a very long time. The Management and staff make everyone welcome and feel like part of the family, nothing is too much trouble. The food is AMAZING,  and they cater for all"
Meryl Cox March 2019

 

"Always a lovely meal. Staff were friendly and polite"
Emma Tanner, February 2019

"Excellent food and friendly service"
Mary Evans, January 2019

"Great Indian restaurant, always great food and plenty of cobra!"
Ed Tuck, January 2019

"Fantastic meal and staff so accommodating"
Alison Arrowsmith, December 2018

"Excellent food and service"
Zach Oliveira, November 2018

"Good service, great food and nice people, winning combination. I'll be going again"
Carlton Herrington, November 2018

"Great service, lovely friendly atmosphere and good food"
Sue Price, November 2018

"Always exceptional service and food, thank you."
Jonathan Roberts, November 2018

"Excellent meal at this restaurant. Brilliant and friendly host, the food was lovely and it was a good evening meal out on a Saturday"
Andrew Ho, October 2018

"Excellent meal as usual. Friendly staff and great service"
Val Reese-lewis, October 2018

"First class food and a friendly welcome"
Martin Lees, September 2018

"Good food friendly staff reasonable prices recommended well worth a visit"
Mark Unsworth September 2018

"Never fails, go to curry house since moving to town in 91"
Malcolm Lashbrook, September 2018

"Excellent food and very friendly atmosphere"
Robin Campbell, August 2018

"Fantastic food and lovely staff"
Julie Lloyd, July 2018

"Staff lovely, very helpful and courteous. Full menu....had chicken tikka - beautiful! Have been before and will visit again!"
Pjx, July 2018

"Excellent meal and service as always could not recommend more highly"
Matthew Davies, June 2018

"Always fantastic food with service to match"
Philip Gaunt,June 2018


"Delicious food and unbelievable service to go with it. Cracking restaurant in Oswestry"
David Wyatt, June 2018

"Excellent Food, excellent service, great value! Best Indian restaurant around by far"
Gary Harmer 01 June 2018

"Nice food for a Indian dinner for your Family and Friends. Friendly staff and warm welcome. The Staff talk to you which is nice to make a conversion with you. They do takeaways as well. Warm in the Winter and Cool in the Summer. If you not a Curry person you can have other English foods as well. When it is a Birthday Party you get a Birthday Cake for free off the Staff and it got Candles. Also good for Kids. It serves Desert at the end and I think it is a three course meal. They have wine and other things and nice dining tables. I would certainly go for the night with Family, Friends or your self"
Frazles C, June 2018

 

"Busy but still exceptional service and excellent food"
Adrienne Jacob May 2018

"Lovely food with friendly great service"
Leon Stephenson, May 2018

"Good choice of food, friendly staff".
Maureen Marriott, May 2018

"George and his team provide the best Indian dining experience in town."
Darren Roberts, May 2018

"Great  Vegetarian menu,  very reasonable prices, gorgeous Indian art on walls, wonderful friendly owner ensures a superb dining experience".
Gary Bowkett, May 2018

"Really nice meal, was oddly busy for the night we visited in the week but the staff excelled and brought us hot delicious food in no time"
Matthew Noakes, May 2018

"One of the best Indian meals i have ever had. Staff are very friendly and are always happy to help. Food was delicious and highly recommended"
ILTW1 17th February 2018

"Great curry will be back soon!"
Kiran V 7th February 2018

"Gorgeous food great people. Thoroughly recommend The Simla for a great night out. Food is delicious, people are warm and friendly. Look forward to visiting again soon."
Deborah A  22nd January 2018

"Fantastic Food. We decided at the last minute to have a takeaway meal. On arrival at the restuarant we were greeted in a very friendly and welcoming way and were given helpful advice about the amount to order whilst enjoying a cold beer. The food arrived promptly and was excellent. We have eaten here many times and had numerous takeaways and have never been disappointed by the food or the service. Highly recommended."
Twmsioncati2015 6th January 2018

"Another amazing meal. Still one of my favourite Indian restaurants, another lovely meal in December. Great welcome from George and the gang. Tasty food, good wine and attentive service. Love it! Highly recommended. Whenever we visit Oswestry, we will definitely be popping in again. Until next time.."
LankyLynMrsMac 6th January 2018

 

"We always eat here! Lovely food and great atmosphere! Nothing too much trouble for the staff and george and julie great hosts
Meb B. 5th August 2015

"Such a warm welcome whether it is you first visit or your fiftieth! Friendly family run indian restuarant. Food excellent, good portion sizes, great flavours, great choice of dishes , something for everyone.
SiMax2015. 22 June 2015


"I've not been to the Simla in quite a few years, but was recommended here by an old friend! My partner and I decided to go and try it, we had a lovely meal with wine! We will return for another good experience Thumbs up.
sammclouis. 22nd June 2015

"I am a resident of Oswestry. We have a bi annual reunion in town of ex soldiers, who started their careers here; in the 60s and early 70s. This year it was requested, at short notice, that a 'curry evening' would be nice on one of the evenings. At relatively short notice, I booked in for 25 people. Due to numbers, the banquet type meal was recommended to us. As the night approached, the numbers increased. Nonetheless with good grace, a smile and perfect professionalism, the proprietor and staff dealt with it. The evening was fantastic and was mentioned as a highlight of our reunion. Terrific food, terrific price, terrific service and staff. Could not fault it in any way. It will become a permanent feature in our future reunions.
Brian K. 7th June 2015

"We took a group of service users here for a meal and we couldn't have been better looked after, George, the owner, was so friendly and the perfect host. The food was gorgeous, great menu and lovely staff. The service was a bit slow but the restaurant was very busy so it is to be expected I guess.
Would go back again.
Fiona R. 24th May 2015

"Our first venture into Oswestry for an Indian meal 🍴 and we weren't disappointed. Excellent food at reasonable prices, staff were all freindly and the service was great. We will definitely be returning.
Gareth C. 22nd May 2015

"Having never been to Simla before, I joined a group from work. Chose the 'dry' chicken tikka, marinated in spices and cooked in a tandoori oven. A less dry tikka I have never tasted. The spices were gorgeous and the meat was tender and moist. Gorgeous. I would definitely recommend the quality to anyone and will certainly return.
Sian J. 16th May 2015

"Me & my Mum visited this restaurant after finding it on TripAdvisor. My sister had just been transferred to the local hospital so we had no idea where anything was and just trusted the reviews for this place. So glad we did! The food was absolutely gorgeous and I am used to my mothers home cooked food so I know a good curry. Definitely a place to visit & will probably return before we leave Oswestry
S0phiNa. 16th May 2015

"The food here is excellent and the service is professional, however, they manage to keep the feel friendly and like your with long time friends. They will also accommodate you if you have special dietary needs or alterations to the meal.
Meryl C. 25th April 2015

"I visited here in March 2015 with my friend and my son. The staff were absolutely wonderful, really attentive to our needs and ensuring that my son was happy and entertained.

The food itself was delicious, and a great selection to choose from.
Jarvthelegend. 7th April 2015

"As always excellent. Best Indian food locally ,been there many times , highly recommend always very pleasant staff, we'll worth a visit..."
Johnjoan1 July 2014

 
"Have tried numerous Indians since moving to Shropshire 6 months ago and this is so far the best. Be sure to book a table on Friday or Saturday as very busy. We had poppadoms with the dips but had to ask for the yogurt dip as didn't come as standard, but this was not a problem. Both main courses were very tasty and portion sizes were good. This is the best so far because there was actually some spice in the food unlike other Indians. The service was good, staff very friendly and we never felt rushed at all. They obviously remember their customers as there was lots of rapport with other customers. Would recommend and we will return".
gildawes, Shrewsbury July 2014
 

"We are hard of hearing- always go there every two months because the poppodums were hot & fresh for starter. We had lovely curry. I had chicken bhuna with saag paneer or fried orka. My friends had chicken with mango and kori chicken were delicious. The staff were very friendly & deaf aware because they do understand what we want when we point the menu & they recommend which the best curry is and sundries aswell :) The meals are good value and free jug of water because any drinks doesnt agree go with curry".
Jennifer F, West Midlands. June 2014

 

"I was brought up in Oswestry and have been eating here since it opened. Now whenever I visit family and friends in Oswestry it is almost a tradition to eat here. The atmosphere is great and you are always made to feel welcome".
Jesse Owen, Peel. April 2014

 

"Having arrived 20 minutes late because of the rubbish taxi service offered in Oswestry (Geoffs Taxis). The staff were accommodating, friendly and welcoming. After a short drink by the bar we were shown to freshly laid table for the four of us. We were given some complimentary popadoms and chutney for my friends birthday and we ordered our meals. Even though restaurant was at full capacity, with an extra table squeezed in for one couple, our service and food was excellent! The staff were engaging and the different tastes of the dishes we ordered were great. Really tasty. Overall a big thumbs up to the staff and food at the Simla".
StevieJP56. April 2014

 

"19 of us enjoyed a great meal here on Friday night. The food was lovely, the staff were attentive and the evening was enjoyed by all. Sadly, we were let down by our taxi company and the staff at the restaurant were kind enough to give us a lift back to our hotel - a generous gesture that was really appreciated. Thank you for such a great evening".
Sue3762, Stratford-upon-Avon. February 2014

 
"Best Indian restaurant around. Went to the simla for a works meal had a banquet meal was absolutely gorgeous great service great banter with naz and George would recommend to anyone".
anslow7, Oswestry. February 2014